Город Бат

От кельтских племен и римских завоевателей до чудесной архитектуры 18 века, исторический город Бат до сих пор пленяет современного туриста своим очарованием.

2.5 часа езды на машине от Лондона.

  • Загадочные Римские Бани были построены в 60 г. нашей эры на месте древних естественных источников, которыми пользовались еще кельтские племена за несколько веков до римлян.
  • Прекрасный музей рассказывает историю о завоевании римлянами Британии и жизни в то время. Вы также сможете увидеть древний источник и попробовать знаменитую целебную воду.
  • Вы удивите, как вода вытекает из-под земли со скоростью 13 литров в секунду, потрогаете ее — температера 46 градусов.
  • Стоя на берегу реки Эйвон, вы увидите красивый Бат — элегантный английский городок.
  • Замечательный вид на реку и мост 18-го века Pulteney Bridge дополняется парками и скверами в пределах пешеходной прогулки по городу. В парке The Royal Victoria Park находится очаровательный ботанический сад, который представляет интерес для садоводов в любое время года.
  • Великолепный образец неоклассической архитектуры — историческая часть города в основном датируется 18-м веком. The Circus — первая круговая улица в Британии, вдохновением для которой стали друидские камни — диаметр соответствует размеру Стоунхенджа. The Royal Crescent — полукруглая улица, построенная для фешенебельного общества 18 века, когда Бат был самым популярным местом отдыха английской аристократии. Элегантная терраса из 30 домом окружает огромную лужайку, и даже сегодня оставляет внушительное впечатление.
  • Посмотрите, как жило высшее общество 18 века в доме-музее №1 Royal Crescent, где собраны артифакты того времени.
  • Елизавета I назвала Аббатство Бата «Светильником запада» — завораживающая архитектура позднего готического стиля наполняет интерьер церкви светом. Построенное в 15 веке, сегодня Аббатство является приходской церковью Бата, а также замечательным музеем богатого исторического наследия города.
  • Бат хранит воспоминаня о многих выдающихся англичанах: здесь бывали писатели Джейн Остин, Чарльз Диккенс и Ричард Шеридан, а также Чарли Чаплин, адмирал Нельсон и Леди Гамильтон, Уильям Хершел (знаменитый астроном), и отец и сын Джон Вуд, которые явились родоначальниками неоклассического стиля в английской архитектуре.
  • Бат интересно посещать в любое время года. Также здесь проходят многочисленные мероприятия и фестивали, например, литературный фестиваль в марте, весенняя выставка цветов и международный музыкальный фестиваль в мае, фестиваль крикета и июне, фестиваль Джейн Остин в сентябре, фестиваль пива и октябре, фейерверк 5 ноября, а многое другое.
  • В дополнение вашего визита, посетите кафе, рестораны и магазины, расположенные в центре города

Bath

From Celtic tribes and the Romans to the wonders of 18th century architecture, the historic city of Bath has retained its fascination for the modern tourist.
It is approximately 2.5 hours’ drive from London. You will see:

  • The mystifying Roman Baths were built in AD60 on the site of an ancient natural spring, which had been used by the Celtic tribes for centuries before them.
  • The excellent museum tells the story of the Roman invasion and life in Britain, as well as giving you the chance to see the spa and taste the renouned waters.
  • Watch the water gushing out from the ground at the rate of 13 litres per second and touch it to feel the temperature of 46°C.
  • Standing on the river Avon, the picturesque Bath offers breath-taking views of an elegant English town.
  • Spendid views of the river and the 18th century Pulteney Bridge are complemented by a number of open spaces and gardens within an easy walk from central Bath. The Royal Victoria Park includes the charming Botanic Gardens, a delight for garden lovers at any time of the year.
  • A superb example of neo-classical architecture, the historic part of the town mainly dates from 18th century. The essential viewing is the Circus – Britain’s first ciruclar street, inspired by the stone circles of the ancient Druids, the diameter of it matching that of Stonehenge; and the Royal Crescent, built for the 18th century’s fashionable society, when Bath was the place to be for well-to-do. The graceful terrace of 30 grand houses circuling a spacious lawn overlooking a park became a favourite place for the genteel, and today remains a most refreshing and stimulating sight.
  • Get a glimpse of the Georgian society life at the museum at No.1 Royal Crescent, complete with artefacts from 18th century.
  • Elizabeth I called Bath Abbey ‘The Lantern of the West’, – the stunning Perpendicular Gothic style of architecture floods the interior of the Abbey with light. Built in 15th century, the Abbey is now the parish church of Bath, and a fascinating museum of the town’s rich historical heritage.
  • Bath has memories of many famous English people – from writers Jane Austin, Charles Dickens and Richard Sheridan, to Charlie Chaplin, Nelson and Lady Hamilton, William Herschel (famous astronomer) and John Wood, father and son, who introduced neo classical architecture to Britain.
  • Bath is fun to visit at any time of the year. Also, there are numerious special events and festivals: Bath Literature festival in March, Spring Flower show and International Music festival in May, cricket festival in June, Jane Austen Festival in September, Bath Beer Festival in October, 5th November Fireworks Display and many others
  • To complete your visit, explore dozens of cafes, restaurants and shops, all within easy reach of the main tourist attractions.